Sweet potato

Since Paolo is six months old, all of my baby books have instructed me to begin introducing certain fruits and vegetables. Which is very bittersweet for me as his mamma.  It was hard enough to give him rice cereal; now vegetables and fruit!?  Where is the time going? He is getting so big, and is so curious about everything.  Anytime I have a glass of water, Paolo insists that I give him a sip from my glass. It is the cutest thing, watching him lap up a bit of water from my glass.  How is my little baby boy growing so fast?

Well, the other day, I decided it was finally time to introduce the first fruit/vegetable. I decided to go with a sweet vegetable: sweet potatoes.  As expected, he didn’t like it much:

This was his face for the entire ten minutes of my shoveling the bright orange pureed goo into his mouth.  While he didn’t smile much, he did eat it all, and has eaten every serving I have given him since. He still won’t really smile for me until I break out the oatmeal or a boob, but at least he ate his first veggies!  I think that pureed pear is next…Maybe he’ll like that a little better.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sweet potato

  1. liz

    That picture is PRICELESS!

    • babyandsofia

      I thought that photo was hi-lar-i-ous. Our camera is broken {sad face} so I am snapping photos with my phone. I miss our camera. We need to get a new one, STAT.

  2. So cute!
    My youngest loved Mangoes and Avocado’s, the oldest loved Green Beans and Pears.

    • babyandsofia

      Tomorrow morning I’m going to try pears…We’ll see how it goes. So far he doesn’t really love sweet potatoes, but likes to suck on slices of green apples. I think I need to try avocado soon, too! He may be more of a fruit baby.

Leave a comment