Black Friday

Before: A little Black Friday fun

After: Paolo is so over it

It’s been quite the week.

On Sunday night after making and freezing a sweet potato casserole for Thanksgiving, I was felled with a horrible case of the flu. I kept putting off getting my flu shot this year, and oh boy did I just pay for it.  I felt like I was run over by a mack truck for two days.  Giuseppe had to work, so it was just me (barely alive) and Paolo. Thankfully, he seemed to understand that I was sick and was actually a really good boy.  Instead of being the crazy little toddler that he normally is, he played by himself in the living room while I was splayed on the sofa. And he took nice long naps with me, which was glorious.  Don’t worry, he’s back to his crazy little self now that I am back to the world of the living.

Then, on Wednesday, I was feeling more alive than dead, so I began preparing for Thanksgiving. I cooked a pecan pie, a pumpkin pie, and no-bake cookies, and then finished the shopping for Thursday.  Yesterday we had a few friends over for Thanksgiving dinner, which was really fun.  And it was the first time that I actually cooked the traditional meal.  Thanksgiving is usually vacation time for us (2004: trip to Tuscany, 2005: trip to Tuscany, 2006: trip to Paris, 2007: trip to Paris, 2008: parents visited us in California {my mom cooked!}, 2009: trip to Hawaii) so I had never subjected myself to the traditional cooking. I think it went okay, everything turned out pretty well!  At least, no one complained!

And then this morning, we did a little Black Friday shopping. Which is something that I had never, ever done before. Since we live in a small town, the shopping isn’t exactly swanky. We went to Target and bought a few stocking stuffers, and – drum roll, please – an XBOX Kinect.  It is awesome. I’ve never, ever purchased a video game before nor have we ever had one in our house. So this is a big step for us.  We bought it, obviously, for the Dance Central game.  And, yes, it really as much fun as it looks on the ads.  I am going to wrap the box and put it under the tree, as it is our gift to ourselves this Christmas.  (There was no way we could actually wait for Christmas.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

