Pasta e fagioli

Last year, I published my quick and easy delicious recipe for my Pasta al Pomodoro, which is a staple in our household.   Another simple, delicious Italian recipe that I make regularly at home is Pasta e Fagioli.  Usually I serve pasta as our first course to be followed by salad, a meat dish or cheese, vegetable, and fruit. But this dish is pretty hearty, so I usually serve only a simple tomato and spinach salad as the second course.

(1) Over medium heat, cover the bottom of a medium-sized  pot in extra-virgin olive oil.  (2) Add 5 small whole cherry tomatoes.  (3) Sprinkle in about 2 teaspoons of organic sea salt.  (4)  Add 3-4 cloves of fresh crushed garlic.  (5) Sprinkle in a pinch of fresh rosemary, and squish the cherry tomatoes so they open in the sauce.  (6) Once heated, add one jar or one can of white cannellini beans.  (7) As this heats up, add 2 1/2 can-fulls of scalding hot water.  (8) Allow to boil for approximately 25 minutes, until beans are soft and open.  (9) Add 3/4 package of penne. (10) Cook pasta in the sauce until pasta is done al dente.  (11) Serve with freshly grated white pepper.

Bon appetito!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Pasta e fagioli

  1. That sound super easy and delicious!
    My boys love a beans called “cranberry beans”. My MIL buys bushels of them at the end of summer, and ee shell them and freeze them fresh. That way all you need to do is wash them and cook them with pasta! No soaking required.

  2. liz

    I have a recipe that uses cannellini beans, and it just so happens I’m cooking it this week!

  3. That looks easy enough that I could handle, I’m going to check out your other recipe too. YUM.

Leave a Reply

