We are back in IOWA

Yesterday afternoon we returned home from our glorious month in Italia.

Italia was filled with amazing meals, breathtaking panoramas, great friends, spectacular parties, and was so incredible that it felt like we there for about two whole days.  I can’t believe the trip is already over.  I’m still working on a travel journal; I’ve not yet decided if I will publish it here, but I will certainly be posting some photos in the near future.

When we walked out of the Des Moines airport yesterday, I was greeted by the most beautiful day I have ever experience in Iowa.  The sky was crystal-clear blue, the air crisp and cool.  Autumn arrived to Iowa while we were in Italy.  The past two days have been just absolutely beautiful.  Paolo and I have been busy trying to unpack our loads of luggage, getting the house back in order, and making some real meals for the hubs.  (Giuseppe actually did a fantastic job of keeping the house clean; but the refrigerator was barren, with only two beers and no food.) But we have been taking breaks to for walks outside. After such a scorchingly hot summer, any time outside at a comfortable temperature is absolutely heaven!  The gorgeousness of the weather is a definite plus.

We are still fighting jet-lag, which is a pain, but a small price for such a fabulous trip.  This week will be busy with party preparation: Paolo’s First Birthday Party “La Festa Italiana” is Saturday!  I’ll have to try to squeeze some time in for my blogging addiction, which I wholly neglected while I was traveling!

A presto!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “We are back in IOWA

  1. You have certainly been missed, but I’m glad you have had a lovely holiday. I can’t wait to see at least a few photos since I swear Paolo is the cutest kid on this planet. And I don’t say that to everyone.

    • Thank you, Poppy! I happen to think he is absolutely gorgeous myself…But I’m not biased AT ALL. And I’m going to get my act together and publish a photo “review” of our trip….

  2. liz

    i hope your plane ride home was smoother than getting there! and i hope you have a blast at the party this weekend!

  3. Welcome back!!! So happy to hear you had such a fabulous time. And can’t wait to hear all the details and see the pics!!!

Leave a Reply

