Winter anxiety in July

The summer time here is gorgeous. It’s been warm and sunny; everything is lush and green.  I have started Paolo in mommy & me swim lessons, so we go to the pool every morning.  We have been spending a lot of time outside and it has been quite nice.

I, however, cannot stop worrying about the winter.  How obnoxious is that?  I try not to think about it, but the thought of snow on the ground from October to March makes me very nervous.  I know it will be pretty to have snow around, and it will be fun for Paolo to play in….I do see the positive side of having a true winter.

But oh my goodness. I am worried about all the coming months that we will be spending freezing our patooties off.  I envision Paolo and I becoming housebound instead of scraping ice off the windshield of my SUV.  (I know, I know, I can’t hardly believe it either that I chose to sign a lease on a place without a garage.  I mean, really. What was I thinking? I think all of that California sunshine had gone to my head.)

In the meantime, I am going to try to quiet my winter anxiety and continue to enjoy the gorgeous summer.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Winter anxiety in July

  1. I hear you. We were pretty house bound last winter, and now? This year? We moved further north. I’m not entirely sure what I was thinking with that one.

  2. liz

    You’re going to be kicking yourself with the garage thing. Sorry to say. 🙂

  3. Scraping ice from an SUV sounds awesome….only because I drive a minivan.

    I tend to hibernate in the winter myself which is why I wish I would have started blogging in say…November.

  4. I remember worrying about the same thing when Parker was really little, but winter came and went, and we had a great time! As they get older, they get interested in different things. Movies, play-do, etc. Then, they also look so cute bundled up to go out on a sunny, snowy day and play!

  5. You will be fine. It like when you have a baby and worry, “how will I ever get them and myself out the door and not be late for work.”

  6. babyandsofia

    I know, what am I going to do this winter? The thought of scraping ice off of my windshield is horrible. And Paolo already gets bored if we don’t go out every day and he’s only 9 months! Winters make me nervous, and I have never, ever spent a winter in a truly cold climate where snow STAYS on the ground….What are we going to do?

Leave a Reply

