Speaking of thunder

It is weird when the weather has such an impact on your daily life.  For quite some time now, I have not really had to think about inclement weather and its possible effect on how I carry about my day.  In Naples, the weather was generally really nice. Sometimes it became cold in the winter and it was definitely really hot in the summer, but nothing that really affected my life.  And in California, the weather was always beautiful. Sometimes it rained.  (Okay, like four times all year.) And sometimes it was chilly.  But really, who am I kidding? The weather was basically perfect.

Well, there were the earthquakes. But they were harmless, and kind of exciting. At least they weren’t hurricanes or scary tornadoes.

Here weather is everything. Before we even arrived to Iowa, there were tornado watches going on when we stayed in Omaha.  We were worried about those, but were told, ‘Oh, don’t worry. You’ll hear the sirens and then you can just go hang out in the basement.” (This was when our Sofia was kenneled in the garage. You can imagine Giuseppe’s panic.) You know, no big deal.

I can’t complain about the spring weather here in Iowa. It’s actually been really beautiful. Usually it’s very sunny and warm.  And really windy.  But then, out of the blue, it will start to thunderstorm.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I LOVE thunderstorms. I always have. There is something about the dark sky, lightening, and heavy rain that reminds me of curling up on the sofa with a hot cocoa to watch a good movie. I love it. But here it is weird how dramatically and quickly the weather can change. Take today, for example. We drove down to Des Moines to meet my aunt, uncle, and grandparents for brunch. (Which was really nice, by the way.  We are going to try to make it a Sunday habit, or at least a couple times a month.)  After brunch, we stopped by the Apple store.  We were there for maybe 30 minutes.  (After we took care of business, we played on the iPad a little.  We found a super cool car racing game on it.) Anyway, when we went in the store, it was a gorgeous, sunny day.  When we came out of the store, there was a full on thunderstorm brewing. It was night and day in 30 minutes.  Thundering, lightening, raining, winding, everything. It was crazy.  That is when we decided to go home. It’s no fun being out in the ‘elements’ with an infant and without an umbrella.

So now our lives are bit more affected by weather. It is a bit of an adjustment, but I have to admit that it’s kind of nice. It’s a novelty, I guess, to have all this variation. We’re not exactly used to it. At least not yet.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Speaking of thunder

  1. liz

    Welcome to the Midwest/Plains!

  2. I find the weather much harder to deal with now that I tote around two kids. Just the other day it was pouring when I had to get them to school, they both had raincoats with hoods. My oldest insisted on carrying the umbrella over him and his brother and left me, with no cover. Let’s just say my hair looked great!!

Leave a Reply

