Tanti auguri a me

Today is my birthday. It is true what they say; the older you become, the more quickly the birthdays arrive.  Cliche`, I know, but it feels like just last month I was celebrating my last birthday.  Last year on my birthday, I was still suffering from horrible morning sickness and was feeling pretty miserable most of the time, but Giuseppe brightened my day by sending an enormous arrangement of two dozen roses to my office. It was the sweetest, really.  (I still have the giant glass vase the flowers arrived in; I put some smooth stones on the bottom and now it is our umbrella holder next to the front door.)

This year is a little more relaxed.  Giuseppe woke me with my favorite thing, a piping hot caffe` latte.  I try to limit my caffeine intake, but those home-made caffe` lattes are just too delicious to give up completely.  Sometimes the small indulgences make all the difference in the world.

Here are my boys this morning before Giuseppe left for the veterinary hospital.  I’m a lucky woman.

But I digress. I was talking about my birthday today.  Since Giuseppe has to work, and I haven’t really had a chance to make any new friends here in Ames yet, I think Paolo and I are going to have a nice regular day.  We are going to go for a run, take care of some errands, and then I have some projects to work on here at home.  I think to celebrate we will probably go out for dinner this weekend.  I need to find a fun place here in Ames!

Yesterday was the third anniversary of our engagement. On April 27th, 2007, after night of dancing in the piazza of Pozzuoli, Giuseppe asked me to marry him and made me the happiest woman.  Shortly after, my mom and dear friend Abby hosted an unbelievable engagement party for us.  It was epic.  Abby and her hubby, Adam, lived in the most unbelievable flat down the street from us in Pozzuoli.  Let’s just say there were a lot of friends, music, dancing, prosecco, and red wine.  Here are a few pre-party snap shots:

It was an unbelievably fun night.  The party went off beautifully, and everyone danced for hours, which is my favorite.  (Thanks to Zack on iPod duty!)

Our engagement was basically a whirlwind. We were engaged on April 27th, celebrated at the engagement party a few weeks later, and then were married on June 29th.  It was a busy time, but so much fun.  We hired amazing photographers; here are a few photos from our engagement photo shoot in Sorrento:

Tanti auguri a me!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Tanti auguri a me

  1. I am absolutely adore your blog, and wish you the happiest birthday. Your photos are amazing, and know that you are truly blessed to have such a beautiful life in each and every way. Best birthday wishes and hope you are enjoying the change of pace in the midwest.

    Love always,

    RaeAnne

    • babyandsofia

      Hey RaeAnne! Thank you so much! When are you planning a visit out here to the Midwest? Love, Brook xo

  2. liz

    Happy Birthday! Those were such fabulous pictures!

  3. BEAUTIFUL PICTURES! All of them! I think I like the one of our hub and bub the most though- so cute!

    Happy Birthday! i know what you mean about them seeming to come around oh so much more frequently now!

Leave a Reply

