Babyproofing 101

Babyproofing has been heavy on mind lately. Ever since Giuseppe and I took the ‘Babysaver’ class at Hoag Hospital (when I was nine months pregnant and a little frazzled) I have been dreading babyproofing my home.  According to the Babysaver class, our home is the most dangerous place for a child, with mortal danger lurking around every corner.  In order to keep our child alive, the nurse informed us that we must lock and hide every single medicinal- and cosmetics-related item, remove all electronics from the premises, get rid of all of our glassware and silverware, keep the garbage cans outside, turn off the hot water heater, lock the toilets, and strap the baby to our bodies until he’s 10 years old. I then decided that we should seriously consider purchasing a large glass box and keeping the baby there until he’s 18.  My advice: Don’t ever take a ‘Babysaver’ class. Take a CPR class instead and call it a day.

So, babyproofing. I don’t even know where to begin; it seems like an impossible task.  Just looking around, I know that I need to: cut the loops on the cords to the blinds and add safety tassels and inner cord loops, install locks on the bathroom and kitchen cabinets, install toilet locks, lower the hot water heater temperature, cover the tub spout, and plug the electrical wall sockets.  But what about the random electrical cords that are not covered by heavy furniture?   And what kind of babyproofing gear is the best?  I think that I need to put up a baby gate to separate our main living area and bedrooms/bathrooms.  Do I need to lock up all cosmetics, including, say, my facial moisturizer?  In the kitchen, can I leave the pots and pans unlocked?  (I remember that my little brother used to play with them as a baby. Then again, my mother was not that worried about this sort of thing.)  Aah!

I looked on Babycenter.com and found this link. Which was helpful, but made me feel like a neglectful mother. I was supposed to do all of this BEFORE the baby came? Whoa now. I was proud to have my nursery ready. I thought that babyproofing was supposed to be done before the baby became mobile. Which is why I am freaking out now about this. Paolo is 6 months old and is just now starting to roll around and scoot just a little bit. Enough to make me nervous, though. Even though I never let him out of my sight, that nurse convinced me of the speedy sneakiness of little guys.

As a first time mamma, I am really in need of advice.  What is the best way to babyproof your home? What I am missing? What is excessive?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Babyproofing 101

  1. Kim Ocampo

    Ok. First things first… Breath! You’re doing just fine. Baby gates are great, put cabinet locks where cleaning supplies are (and later on the fridge, trust me), you can buy cord covers at Target, and know that your little guy is gonna get himself hurt from time to time. That’s how they learn. You just need to protect them from the big stuff, cords, outlets, appliances, small things they’ll put in their mouths, cleaning supplies, and siblings (wink)!

  2. I would not worry too much. I tend to be anxious, but I was able to not get too crazed about all the baby proofing and my child is still alive. We waited until he got a little older to kind of guage what it was he would need. We moved breakables out of the way as it seemed necessary. We put locks on all the cabinets and made sure that all cords were out of the way or hidden. Other than that, we really didn’t have to do anything else. We don’t have anything for the tub or toilet. We didn’t use corner protectors because he would rip them off anyway. The doorknob covers – kids end up figuring out how to use them. We kept our bathroom doors shut and for the longest time that was enough to keep him out of the bathrooms. So, I would say just kind of take it as it comes and do what makes sense or helps you feel comfortable.

  3. Jody Main

    I did not baby proof a thing and look how perfect you turned out. Just let Paulo put the make-up on when he discovers it; it is not going to hurt anything if he gets in the refrigerator and throws eggs on the floor; so he takes a sip out of the toilet? My dog drinks from the toilet everyday and she is fine.

    On another note, I am happy you took care of the blind cords already and lowering the temp on the hot water heater is a good idea if it is blazing.

  4. Lidia Dell'Anna

    Io credo che la cosa più importante sia evitare che il bambino possa prendere oggetti che siano realmente pericolosi come forbici, coltelli oggetti in vetro e quant’altro possa ferirlo, importante coprire le prese elettriche, per quanto riguarda i cavi elettrici sono in commercio i copricavo che sono davvero comodi, io penso come te che il bambino non si può chiudere in una campana di vetro fino a 10 anni, è pazzesco!!! Il bambino ha bisogno di scoprire il mondo che lo circonda e deve imparare a riconoscere il pericolo anche attraverso la sua esperienza diretta, vedrai che con i tuoi insegnamenti e con quelli di Giuseppe imparerà, la cosa importante è essere calmi e fermi nei divieti…questo non si tocca!… ( a proposito quello che vi consiglio è che tutti i mobili e soprattutto le librerie siano ben aggangiate alle pareti )
    …e poi quale sicurezza migliore esiste dell’occhio vigile di una mamma?

  5. Poppy wants to make sure everything is just perfect. Poppy Nursery

  6. Amy

    That is the main reason I did not take that class! In all honesty, the only babyproofing I did was locked up the cabinets and put plugs over the light sockets. Done. I think you should teach your child was is and isn’t OK to touch. That’s what I’ve been doing and my daughter is still alive.🙂

  7. liz

    Don’t overthink it. Start with the stuff closest to the ground, like cabinet doors and the outlet plugs. It really isn’t something that needs to be done so far ahead, and you can do a little at a time.

    Plus, you don’t know what they’ll get into. My oldest barely touches anything, but my youngest is opening drawers even, and pulls cords out of the wall!

Leave a Reply

