Monkey muffins

While I was so busy procrastinating today, I made yummy banana chocolate muffins.  Which we call Monkey Muffins in our house.  (Well, anything banana-flavored is referred to as ‘monkey’ {bread, cake, muffins, etc.}. Because monkeys like bananas.)  Since the recipe was so simple and so delicious, I thought I would share:

Monkey Muffins

1. Grease 12 regular-sized muffin cups with olive oil; set aside. Heat oven to 400 degrees F.

2. In a medium bowl, mix together the following: 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons baking soda, and 1/4 teaspoon salt.  Mix well, and then make a well with the mixture and set aside.

3. In a separate bowl, combine: 1 beaten egg, 1/2 cup milk, 3/4 cup mashed over-ripe bananas, and 1/4 cup olive oil.  Mix thoroughly and then pour into the flour mixture.  Fold the flour mixture into this until combined, but still lumpy.  (Do not overmix.)

4. Add 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips.  (Or broken pieces of a dark chocolate bar. It’s all I had in the house.)

5. Spoon mixture into the muffin cups, filling roughly 2/3 of each cup.

6. Cook for 18 minutes.

7. Cool on a wire rack and serve.

EASY. And yummy.  I think Giuseppe consumed nearly half of the batch for desert; he will probably eat the rest for breakfast.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Monkey muffins

  1. Lidia Dell'Anna

    gnam!gnam! Ho preso la ricetta…devono essere deliziosi!!!!! Thank’s!!!

  2. I am so going to make this, my boys (including the hubby) love banana’s and anything with chocolate chips in it.

  3. babyandsofia

    It’s a great, easy recipe. And ours are all gone. As predicted, Giuseppe devoured several for breakfast and took the remaining ones with him to the hospital this morning for a midmorning snack later on.

  4. I made these and you are so right, quick, easy and delicious! Everyone of my boys loved them. I will post a picture soon (I of course took a picture~LOL).

    • babyandsofia

      Oh I am glad you liked them! They were dangerously yummy. (Dangerous for my diet, great for the life of my baby weight.)

  5. Pingback: Cara « baby&sofia

Leave a Reply

