Kum & Go

Sounds dirty, right?  Well, it’s not. It’s just a Midwestern chain of gas station/convenience stores.  I don’t know if it’s just me, but what a name.

Anyway, I was there this morning getting my coffee.  Giuseppe, Paolo, Sofia, and I decided to explore our new neighborhood this morning.  We only arrived last night, so our house is full of boxes and this morning our kitchen was still all packed up.  And I needed/wanted a cup o’ joe.  So off we went.  The forecast said it was going to be sunny and nice; I mean it is April after all. It should be nice out.  Well, it was sunny.  But FREEZING. I was wearing my Uggs, yoga pants, and a fleece and I thought I was going to DIE. It was so stinkin’ cold. We made it across the street to the Kum & Go and planned on continuing on in search of a coffee house or diner.   But I quickly realized that there was a strong possibility of catching hyperthermia on the way to the coffee shop so we instead stopped in at the gas station.  So my first cup of coffee in Ames was from a gas station called the Kum & Go.

I must say, however, that it has been a beautiful day today.  (As long as you are looking at it from inside, where the heat is on.)  Everything is turning green and the sky was clear blue.  And we made some progress on unpacking.  Not as much as I had hoped, but we will get ‘er done tomorrow.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Kum & Go

  1. I lived in Iowa for 6 years and thought the same thing! We didn’t have those where I grew up in Phoenix. And, in Colorado Springs we have Loaf N Jug, which people from Phoenix think is funny too. My husband went to undergrad at ISU.

    • babyandsofia

      I think that name is really funny, and everyone here doesn’t seem to notice! What did your hubby do here at ISU? I visited the campus yesterday, and it really is very beautiful! I was duly impressed.

  2. Rachel

    So glad to hear that you all made it and are settling in. Looks like you had a wonderful road trip! I got a good laugh over the sign… can’t wait to show it to Phillip this evening.

Leave a Reply

