Days Four & Five: Dell’Anna Family Road Trip Adventure

The past two days have been quite driving-intensive.  On Easter, we spent the morning in Santa Fe, as planned.  For our holiday breakfast we dined on capuccinos and crepes from a busy French creperie/bakery nestled in the plaza of the historic district.  It was delicious.  We then strolled around and eventually made our way back to the car.

I, sadly, do not have any photographs from the past two days. While we were in Santa Fe, our camera was dropped and broken.  (And NOT by me! I cannot express how happy that my hubby did the damage and not me. If it were me, he would never let me forget it.)  So, instead of taking photos, we fired up the videocamera.  Which has been fun, as we rarely use it. I have decided that we must be better about taking videos; they are so much fun.

Not that there was too much to photograph over the past few days. The drive through northeastern New Mexico was pretty bleak; the scenery improved as we crossed into the Colorado state line, but turned pretty bland again as we headed east out of Denver.

In Denver, we stayed with my lovely Auntie Patti for the evening. It was so great to see her and one of my cousins whom I rarely see; I hadn’t seen Aunt Patti since she came out for a visit in Newport last summer. She was, of course, excited to meet the baby.  It turned into a little party when an old friend from college came out for a few hours. I hadn’t seen Tiffany since our wedding back in 2007, so it was a treat to see her!

We headed out of Denver toward Omaha midmorning for what turned out to be the most boring drive EVER.  Eastern Colorado and the state of Nebraska are not exactly majestic.  I must say, however, that we have been quite lucky with the wildlife. In the past few days we have seen deer, elk, antelope, prairie dogs, a fox, mustangs, cattle, horses, pheasants, wild turkeys, raccoons…I think Giuseppe  pees his pants a little with excitement every time we spot wild animals.

So here we are in Omaha, all snuggled up at our dear friends’, Lisa and Rob, home.  I cannot believe this trip is coming to an end.  We will decide in the morning if we are going to stay in Omaha and maybe visit the zoo or if we will head straight to IOWA tomorrow. My vote is to stay one more day and go to the zoo, but we’ll see how we all feel in the morning…

We may be moving into our new place in IOWA tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

