Too soon

Paolo is turning five months next week; I had planned to exclusively breastfeed him until he was six months old.  That, however, has not worked out. As of late, Paolo’s eating schedule has been quite irregular.  At times, he is hungry all day and other times, would barely eat during the day. The one constant is that since I have gone back to work full time, he wakes up to eat 3-4 times every night. (I don’t mind waking up, but once or twice a night would be ideal.)  I finally called the pediatrician last week, and she told me that this usually means that the baby is ready to try his first solid food.  I not was exactly ecstatic to hear this, so I waited a few days before breaking out the rice cereal.  I was secretly very happy that this was his first reaction to the cereal:

So, given this reaction (which is normal, I know) and the fact that I’m not sure he even swallowed anything, I didn’t give him more cereal for a few days. Then, he had a check-up with the pediatrician on Friday, she let us know that it was definitely time to give him solids on a regular basis.  His teeth are ready to come out, he’s near sitting up by himself, and he’s getting bored with just milk.  Basically, he’s ready for solids.  Sniff, sniff.  I didn’t realize how quickly this day would come. I know that he will continue to nurse and will receive his nutrients from me, but I just didn’t expect to introduce solids already. Sniff, sniff.

This morning we gave him another serving of rice cereal.  At first, he wasn’t enjoying it one little bit.  (And I was beaming on the inside.)  Then, he started to like it. A lot. It took some work to get the food in, but he was really excited and loving it. Paolo started to lean into the spoon and going for it.  He finished the entire serving and was as happy as could be.  Then, he had a nice long nurse (which made me happy) and then a nice long nap (which made both Giuseppe and I happy).

I had planned to give him another serving this evening.  His evening meal was planned for 7pm, but he started fussing at 6:30, so I nursed him a bit and then he fell right asleep. For the night.  I guess he’ll get more in the morning, but I wanted him to have some cereal this evening to see if he would wake up less to eat.  It’s crazy how he has started waking up so much at night, and I hope this helps to get his daytime eating schedule back on track.

And now that he is started on solids, I have my eye on this nifty baby kitchen appliance:

The Beaba Babycook Baby Food Maker from Williams Sonoma.  A coworker raves about it, and it looks awesome.  It’s “a steamer, blender, warmer and defroster in one compact appliance.”  I love it.  I am, I think, when he is ready, going to introduce first sweet potatoes, then avocado, then bananas.  (Very slowly and one at a time, of course.) Any suggestions?

This is all happening too fast for me!  Solids! Wow.

Momversation


6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Too soon

  1. My oldest started solids at 5 months and my youngest was so big that we had to start him at 4 months.
    I had a food mill and made most of their food. I use to freeze it in ice cube trays and defrost/warm it up. That thing looks and sounds awesome. It given me a great idea for a friend who is going to have a baby and I know will want to make her own baby food.
    Time really does fly, before you know it he will be pulling to stand and cruising.

    • babyandsofia

      Oh my goodness, your friend will be so thrilled for the baby food maker! It seems like such a fun “appliance.” I still have a few weeks before I will need it, but I think I’ll order it sooner…I want to play with it. Williams Sonoma even has little trays to freeze the food….They just look like fancy ice cube trays, really.

      Wasn’t it hard to give your boys solids for the first time? P is getting so big so fast. I don’t know what I’ll do when he starts pulling up to stand!

  2. Amy

    Olivia was a bigger baby, so we started her on cereal @ 4 months. Then regular baby food @ 5 months. She was eating table food by the time she turned 9 months.
    That food maker looks awesome. Maybe if I had one of those, I would have made my own. Oh well.. maybe next time.🙂

    • babyandsofia

      How big was Olivia? P is pretty big too. And he quickly loved the rice cereal, which makes me think he’ll be very receptive when I start introducing new foods in the coming months….

  3. Melissa

    My exclusively breast-fed daughter also started waking up 3-4 times a night after I went back to work. I let it go for a month till her four month doctor’s appointment. Our doctor said it was because she missed full time nursing and it was time to Ferber-ize. We did and within four nights she was sleeping better than ever. We were able to hold off on solids till seven months.

  4. I’m thinking about buying one of those contraptions as well!

Leave a Reply

