Sunday funday

I have a renewed love for the weekend now that I am back to work full time, and now that Giuseppe is not working every Sunday. It is a blessing to wake up not by an alarm, but instead by Paolo’s cooing.  On Sunday, I woke up with Paolo staring right at me with giant smile on his face.  Paolo is still sleeping in our bed, and it is a panino o’ Paolo, because he sleeps snuggled between the two of us.  I love Sundays.

After we all woke up, Giuseppe and I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast consisting primarily of caffe’ lattes.  Which I love so much.  I had lost the habit of making caffe’ italiano every morning, but since Lidia stayed with us last month, she reignited my love of caffe’ lattes.  After our glorious family time, we left the house for San Diego, for a trip to the zoo.

The zoo. The San Diego Zoo is one of Giuseppe’s favorite places, ever.  He loooves it.  We walked the entire zoo, visiting some places more than once. I think we saw every single animal, and then some twice.  (It was a much needed work-out for me; my legs were even sore on Monday.)  Zack came to meet us and so did our dear family friend, Dora. It was so nice to relax and spend the entire day outside.

After the zoo, we met up with some great friends from Europe at Bruno’s Pizzeria Napoletano.  (Note that the name is grammatically incorrect in Italian…It should be Bruno’s Pizzeria Napoletana.  Despite this glaring American take on Italian, the restaurant was quite delicious.)  We had no idea that there was an authentic Napoletana pizzeria in San Diego!   It was delicious; we were duly impressed.  (Zack, you have to stop by for a pizza this week. Take a picture and send it to us!)  So we enjoyed a delectable dinner.  It was a great ending to our Sunday funday.  I love Sundays.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sunday funday

  1. Stephanie Simmons

    Brook, it may have been a long while since we lived across the hall from each other, but I just have to say…this is the most beautiful family! I love checking your ‘blog’ to see what you are up to and I love how blissfully happy you are. Sending you my best! Stephanie

  2. babyandsofia

    Hey Stephanie, it is so great to hear from you…And thank you so much! We are a happy little family. I really enjoy writing this blog, and it is a great way to keep in touch with all of our relatives and old friends! How are things going for you out East? xo

  3. These photos are awesome! Paolo has such beautiful eyes.
    I think it funny how you pointed out the incorrect grammar of the restaurant. My blog title originally was incorrect grammar and thanks to my mother in law it has been corrected for some time, the blog address still has the incorrect grammar though.
    I love getting your daily Italian lesson.

  4. Amy

    How precious are those cute camo pants? I love them!

Leave a Reply

