Splurge

This morning I was putting together my grocery shopping list. And I was getting excited (maybe I was really hungry, not sure). For awhile, grocery shopping was a challenge, but it’s gotten much better. Paolo loves to be in the front baby carrier and look around the store while I do my shopping. And he has become such a little flirt. (Takes after his papa’.)  He smiles and coos at anyone that will look at him.  I love that he is so social and engaging; this is such a fun age.

As I was putting together my grocery list, I realized that I was really looking forward to my trip to Trader Joe’s today. This got me thinking about my relationship to shopping.  Some days I love it, some days I hate it. But mostly I love it. Shopping can be so much fun.  Especially finding great deals. I get so excited when I come home with an excellent find, who doesn’t?  I can get a shopping high from finding a fabulous deal on onesies for my baby or buying our dog food with a great coupon sent in the mail.  (Lamb and rice Science Diet is the only thing that goes into Sofia’s doggie dish.  Vet’s orders.)  Mostly, I am a frugalista. (What a great word; did Target or TJ Maxx invent that one? I can’t remember.)  But there are a few items that I will never, ever skimp on.  I would rather go without; every woman knows these five item deserve a good splurge.

Face cream. Shiseido is the best, hands down.

Handbags. Italian ones only, thank you.  (Side note, I have not bought a purse in two years….Oh I how miss Italy and their sales and outlets and markets….)

Hairdryers.  I prefer the Paul Mitchell ionic travel size.  It’s half the size of the giant salon one and works just as great. (Did I mention it was HALF the price?)  And it doesn’t sound like a lawnmower.

Along that same vein, I think that one’s stylist is very important.  I hate it when my hair is funky.  (Which happened for the entire first year in California.  My stylist is just now getting things back in order. THANK GOODNESS).  I would love to put up a photo my stylist, but I should probably ask him first.

And, lastly, organic food items.  I try to buy just about everything organic and all-natural. We don’t do much processed food in our house. We don’t even have a microwave.  (Since we got married, actually, we’ve never had one. Or needed/missed it.)  I get a lot from Trader Joe’s, Mother’s Market, and Vons has actually stepped up their selection of USDA organic items.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Splurge

  1. I love Trader Joe’s. We also do not eat a lot of processed food. My children love the cereal bars you can get at TJ, once my husband ate one and was like, “these are great.” I am a big stickler about the milk they drink too, it has to be organic or I just won’t buy it.

    (I am also looking forward to the day my husband takes me to Italy/Sicily so that I too can get some nice handbags. My mother-in-law always come home with a few after a visit and I drool over them.)

Leave a Reply

