Deceptively cute

Target is probably one of my favorite stores. It is super convenient and it has almost everything; and everything is so darned cute.  Last week, all three of us stopped by our local store to complete a list of errands.  As I wanted a one-stop-shopping experience, I decided to cram in everything on my list at Target. Which included buying more diapers.  Personally, I prefer the Costco brand of diapers. Cheesy, I know,  but they are my favorite. They don’t leak. I have tried everything – all the big names – and Kirkland has won a spot in my heart. But I digress.

So, as opposed to making another stop at Costco, which is always FRANTIC on the weekends, I strolled over to the diaper aisle at Target.  I was perusing the usual selection of diapers, trying to decide what could hold us over until we our next stop at Costco.  This is terrible to admit, but I despise cartoon characters on baby clothes.  I know babies and toddlers like cartoons, but on their clothing?  Please.  They are too little to know the difference, and I prefer to avoid this trend until the child starts asking for cartoon-riddled clothing and accessories.  I believe the same should go for diapers.  All the diapers in that aisle were COVERED in tacky cartoons. Yuck.  Tackety tack tack.  But then I noticed the Target brand of size 3 diapers. They were adorable.  Simple, with large green and blue dots.  I had never seen a cuter box o’ diapers in my life.  So I snatched up a large box and off we went.  I was so excited about the modern, fashionable diapers. Until the next morning.

Paolo woke up absolutely soaked.  The adorable diapers (or diapies, as we call them at home) were not so good at doing their job. It is like they repel the pee instead of soak it up.  I thought it was a fluke, so I tried another one.  I was holding Paolino on my hip and he peed on me.  Not in the diaper, but on me. Like he wasn’t even wearing one.   I usually don’t like to complain about products, but these are the absolute worst diapers ever.  They are non-diapers. And deceptively cute.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Deceptively cute

  1. swankysweetpea

    You are too funny! That is terrible, because I have noticed how non-tacky and cute they are as well. Even though Evie is about 3 years past diapers, lol. I still like to walk down the baby aisle at Target and just look. Love the blog design by the way, and what an adorable son you have. I don’t think I ever made it to congrats in my email,…..so congratulations mama:)

  2. we are huge costco diapie fans.

  3. I totally hate the characters on clothes too!
    I would have to say for me the target diapers work great, I discovered them with my second child. I am not sure if they would have been so good with my first who I had to buy overnight diaper for because even in name brands he always woke up soaked. My second I don’t think goes that often throughout the night. I too love the little dots on them.

  4. Amy

    We love Costco diapers too. I have a online friend who’s hubby works for Kimberly Clark (the company who makes Huggies) and she told me that Kirkland brand diapers are Huggie Supreme diapers. Plus, they dont have cartoons on them, only a cute zebra (at least the size 4’s do).

    Oh and Target is like crack. I swear I’m there at least once a week.🙂

Leave a Reply

